Murrumbidgee’s Australia Day recipients

Darlington Point’s Citizen of the Year 2022 is Gavin Gilbert.

Murrumbidgee has today honoured its many talented and accomplished residents in an online Australia Day ceremony.

Murrumbidgee Mayor Ruth McRae proudly acknowledged this year’s Australia Day Award recipients and nominees for their outstanding contribution to their communities.

‘‘Our three communities are rich with people who contribute for the betterment of us all,’’ said Cr McRae.

“Our children, our school leaders, our multi-talented sporting individuals and teams, and our selected citizens have all in their unique, committed and generous way made a valuable and significant contribution.

“Deviating from how we usually gather and celebrate Australia Day is disappointing, but by no means less significant.

“Thank you also to this year’s Australia Day ambassador, Ms Viv Kartsounis, who was unable to attend in person but provided a video of her address, which is available on our Council Facebook and Instagram pages.

“It is our sincerest hope that celebrating Australia Day 2023 will see a return to how our individual towns love to do so,” she said.

Australia day award recipients are listed by region below:


Young Citizen of the Year: Laura Mannes.

Event of the Year: Frocktober Cocktail Party.

Cultural Award: CCS Primary Industries Class 2021.

Sporting Team of the Year: St Peter’s PP5 swimming relay team.

Sportsperson of the Year: Luke Hillier

Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Hannah Pound.

Sub-Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Alex Pound.

Environmental Citizen of the Year: Coleambally Men’s Shed.

Darlington Point

Citizen of the Year: Gavin Gilbert.

Young Citizen of the Year: Armani Coe

Young Sportsperson of the Year: Tamsin Hughes.

Acknowledgement of Dedication and Services to the Community: Phillip Wells.


Carmen Lawton is Jerilderie’s Citizen of the Year 2022.

Citizen of the Year for 2022: Carmen Lawton.

Young Citizen for 2022: Rory Knight.

2022 Sports Team of the Year: Jerilderie Bowls Pennant Team of the 2020-21 season.

Little Aussie Awards (nominated by the schools): 1st place — Ruby Neessen (St Joseph’s Primary School); 2nd place — Zara Williams (Jerilderie Public School).