Chamber looks to the Future

By Southern Riverina News

Finley Chamber of Commerce, Industry & Agriculture Inc. is being rebranded as ‘Finley for the Future’ in an effort to gain more interest from community members and groups.

Secretary Susan Hill said the idea was passed at chamber’s recent AGM.

‘‘Chamber has found a new direction and will refer to ourselves as Finley for the Future, which we hope will allow us to gain more interest from community members and groups.

‘‘We are still under the brand of Finley Chamber of Commerce, Industry & Agriculture Inc, but we will just change the way we refer to ourselves.

‘‘A new committee of interested persons has also been formed to replace the old committee, which chamber hopes will be a positive and beneficial change to the whole community and all of the new groups who are now part of Finley for the Future.

‘‘The main executive positions remain, but it is much more focused on the committee of community members from various businesses and groups in Finley.’’

Chamber also made changes to its meeting schedule, which will now be once a quarter instead of monthly.

‘‘We are hoping to attract more people to our quarterly meetings.

‘‘In place of the monthly meetings, we have added a monthly informal discussion about relevant subjects which will benefit the community greatly.’’

NSW Member for Murray Helen Dalton was among 50 attendees on the night and started the evening with an informative speech.

‘‘She spoke about her life and journey getting into politics and what she hopes to achieve for our area,’’ Ms Hill said.

‘‘Water, of course, was on the forefront of everybody’s minds so we hope she can achieve something positive for our region.’’

At the AGM, Gary Carr was returned as president. In addition to Ms Hill, other executive members are vice president John Lacey, assistant secretary Tiarna Giddings and treasurer David Vinecombe.

Committee members are Sarah Bain, Cathy Close, Deb Rose, Nola Pinnuck, Rob McCullough, Ross Whittaker, Jan Gray, Carol Kennedy, Warwick Douglas, Graeme Falconer, Maureen Bevan, Phil Wilkinson and Chris Kelly.