Naseby claims club title

By Southern Riverina News


The ladies held their club championships recently with scratch winner Marg Naseby winning club champion.

The winner of the Judy Manson Memorial Trophy for best net score over three weeks of championships was Toni Hoete.

Toni continued her great form winning the non vets too, while Deb Heath took out the vets.

Grade winners were as follows:

A grade - Marg Naseby; B grade - Carolyne Rutledge; C grade - June Shields; D grade - Toni Hoete; 9 holes - Elaine Gorey; Vets - Debbie Heath; Non Vets - Toni Hoete; Judy Manson Memorial - Toni Hoete.

Mthly Medal Debbie Heath R/ up Eve Kerr Putting Elli Vivian
9 holes Joyce Chirgwin

Last Tuesday 16 ladies took to the fairways to play Monthly medal with Debbie Heath winning the medal on a countback from Eve Kerr.

Kerr won NTP and Elli Vivian won putting.

After recently celebrating her 90th birthday last month, life member Joyce Chirgwin won the nine hole competition, putting and also won the raffle for the day.

Joyce continues to hit it straight down the fairways.

Last month the Club Mixed Foursome championships was held in very cold conditions , with Marg Naseby and Shane Mannes taking out the title again.

Net winners were Jan Young and Russell Rutledge.

There is plenty of excitement around the club with the much needed renovations of the clubrooms finished.

It is much warmer and far more comfortable than the makeshift clubhouse.

Well done to everyone involved.

Berrigan Ladies

Berrigan Ladies played a stableford event on Wednesday for the Captain’s Trophy.

The winner on the day was Judy Karakai with 39 points.

Karakai also won the best second nine, with 20 points.

The nearest the pin went to Gail Browne and the lucky draw was Kath Harris.

Next Wednesday will be a stroke event, where ladies will be playing for the monthly medal.

Finley Ladies

Finley ladies teed off for the Betta Home Living sponsored stableford event on Wendesday, September 9, 2020.

Kaye Sutton was the Division One winner with 35 points and Glenys Creek took out Division Two with 37 points.

NTP was Deborah Pyke on 13th while the ball winners were Beth White (36 points), Deborah Pyke (34) and Marian Ayres (33).


The ladies kicked off their Club Championships on Tuesday, September 8.

The day saw 56 ladies playing stroke in with Division One going to Maxine Sadler with 82 gross.

Net winner was Janie Hills on 72, with runner-up Bobette Wilkinson finishing on 73.

Division Two gross and net went to Robyn Conrick 87/67, runner-up was Roslyn Seymour 74.

Division Three gross winner was Shirley Desailly with 100 off the stick.

Olivia Thompson scored 72 net to finish as grade winner, on countback from Desailly.

A field of 102 members played Par on Wednesday, September 9.

Division One went to Phil Nunn with +4, runner-up was Adam Purtill with 2.

Murray Chapman finished square to claim victory in Division Two, on countback from Paul Aston.

Division Three was won by Ricky Bourke with 4, followed by Terry McMahon 1, and Division Four went to Ray Hehir on square, from Lionel Thurtell with -1.

Men's Gold was won by Laurence Rickard 2. Graeme Sharp was his closest competitor with -3.

Saturday and Sunday was the N&V Wilson 27 Hole Foursomes.

Division One on Saturday was won by Peter Bolt with 71 net, runner-up was Doug Pocknee with 73.

Noddy Ireland claimed Division Two 69, one-clear of Peter Webb on 70.

Only one stroke separated Division Three winner Ronald Loversidge (73) and runner-up Robert Burns (74).

Ladies stroke saw Susan Papas stand tall in Division One, with her 70 net beating Lindy Cooper on 72.

Division Two was won by Roslyn Seymour with 73, runner-up was Heather Aston 76.

Sunday's winners of the N & V Wilson Foursomes Championships were as follows:

Gross - Adam and David Purtill 120, r/u Peter Bolt and Phil Nunn 122 c /b.

Net - Doug Pocknee and Michael Sherlock 106.5, r/u Hugo Jankov and Denis Myers 111 c/b.


Friday's winner was Angus Coldwell (42-11-31) and runner-up was Joe Nicholls (42-10-32).

Edwina Morgan won the putting with 12 putts and ball winners were Dean Loats (48-14.5-33.5) and Maria McDonell (48-14.5-33.5).

Saturday's winner was Judy Karakai with a net score of 30, runner-up was Edwina Morgan with 30.5.

Joe Nicholls won the putting with 11 putts and ball winners were Neil Graham and Marianne Whelan, both on 37 net.

Sunday's stroke winner was Jeremy O'Dwyer (88-17-71), runner-up was Joe Nicholls (93-20-73).

O'Dwyer also won the putting with 25 putts and ball winners were Nick Manley (84-10-74) and John Strelic (98-24-74).

Sunday will be the second round of the championship with tee off at 12.30pm.


A field of 21 players, with 15 competing in 18 hole stroke, took to the course on Thursday, September 10.

The day saw the Ladies Monthly Medal competition, with 18 hole winner Suz Graham claiming both the medal and daily competition win with 69 net.

She was closely followed by Robyn Ford on 70 and Fraser Pinnuck was the ball competition winner with 72 net.

Stableford nine-hole winner was Kate Sleigh with 10, surviving a countback from Jenny Barlow.

Par Medley was played on Sunday, September 13.

Emily Ford blitzed the competition with 6, her closest rival being Aaron Purcell on -2 (c/b)

Ball competition winners on the day were Bill Williams -2 and Geoff Portbury -3.


Grant Wilson came out on top with 36 points to take the voucher at the Men’s Ray Healey stableford competition on Wednesday.

Doug Smith was NTP and Paul Beaver claimed the Pro Pin on the 18th.

Ball competition winners were John Taylor (35), Paul Pinnuck (34), Barry Wilson (33) and Billy Smith (33).

Barry Fahey managed to take out NAGA trophy.

At the Play 9 stroke competition on Thursday, Ian Swain came out on top with 33.5 net to take the voucher.

Ball competition winners were Matt Daniel 36.5 and Rand Wilson with 37 net.

A large field came out on Saturday for the G & C Shaw stableford competition.

Dave Cordell with 37 points was the Men’s Division One trophy winner with Ian Daniel, also on 37 points, claiming Division Two.

Mary Polkinghorne, who carded 34 points, was the Ladies Division winner.

NTP on the 13th was Janet Delmenico, the 18th Marty Piggin, the 3rd Beau Makkinga and the Pro Pin on the 6th was claimed by Paul Pinnuck.

Ball competition winners were Barry Fahey (36), Rick Harris (35), Rand Wilson (35), Beau Makkinga (34), Sharon Pyle (32) and Helen Wastle (32).

Alan Hand and Christine Shaw each claimed a NAGA trophy.

After overnight rain the Pyke Irrigation stroke event was played on Sunday.

The day included the September Monthly Medal/Club Brooch.

Andrew Harding, after countback on 69 net, claimed the Men’s Division One trophy along with the Net Medal.

Chick Braybon with 71 net took out Division Two.

Trevor McCaw carded 79 off the stick to finish as the Scratch Medal winner, after countback.

In the Ladies Division it was Helen Wastle with 70 net who took the Ladies Daily Trophy, after countback, as well as the Club Brooch.

After another countback, Joanne Dean with 28 putts was Ladies Putting Trophy winner.

NTP on the 18th went to Jason Pyle and the Pro Pin on the 11th was taken by Colin McNamara.

Ball competition winners were Paul Beaver (69), Maree Doyle (70), Sharon Pyle (71), Jason Pyle (71), Trevor McCaw (71), Beau Makkinga (72), Eric Dean (72), Rick Harris (73) and Rodger Sutton (73).

Clinton Knight picked up a NAGA trophy,

At the weekend stableford will be played on Saturday and stroke on Sunday.