Penny prevails for Medal

By Southern Riverina News


Julie Penny had a clean sweep in the Ladies Monthly Medal on Tuesday last week.

With a field of 45 ladies playing in the stroke event, Penny claimed the medal and Division One grade win with 69 net, along with the gross win with 84 off the stick. Grade runner-up was Robyn Conrick on 74 net.

Shirley Desailly was the Division Two Gross winner with 102, while Grade winner was Nat Beard on 73 net, r/u was Cheryl Rossborough 74.

Gale Tyers won the putting competition while NTPs went to Nola Whiteford 2nd, Mary Murdoch 8th, Gale Tyers, Pro Pin Rhonda Constable $45 17th.

Last Wednesday saw 95 players playing stableford with John Smith taking the Division One win with 36 points, Doug Pocknee was r/u 35.

Division Two went to Kevin Keating on 38 points followed by Ian Cameron 37, Division Three was won by John Carroll 38, r/u was Brian Rooney 36.

NTPs went to Ray McAvoy 2nd, Doug Pocknee 14th, Darren John Pro Pin $99

Men’s Gold winner was Allan Penny on 40 points followed by Graeme Sharp 31.

Saturday was our Winter Tournament-Mixed Foursomes with the winning pair going to Paul Mason and Belinda Pitts (Heidelberg) on 70. Runners-up were Donald Sinclair and Elizabeth Sinclair (East Geelong) 71 and third place went to locals Darren Tyrrell and Cheryl Hart with 71.

NTPs went to Jan Taylor 2nd, Fred Tyers 2nd, 17th Nannette Mullins 17th, Ian Johnson 17th.

Sunday’s tournament was Ladies/Men’s 4BBB Agg Stableford with the ladies winning pair going to L McIntyre and D Nelis 77.

Runners-up were C Chapman and M Paszkiewicz 67, and third place went to A Dickinson and D Clay 64.

Men’s winning pair were D Tyrrell and M Hart 75, runners-up were P Cheesewright and R Hoy 73, and third place was R Hoy and N Dehey 72.

Monday was the last of the tournament that saw 49 ladies playing stableford, with Division One going to Vicki Waldron on 41 points. Runner-up was Alison Southwell with 36.

Maree Kelly was the Division Two winner with 34 points followed by Sheree Geall with 33 and Division Three went to Dianne Nelis with 38, r/u was Leanne McIntyre 36.

NTP 2nd was Elizabeth Sinclair, 18th was Mary Morgan.

A field of 63 men played stableford with Division One going to Ross Sidebottom, with 38 points, followed by Jason Kerr 37.

John Crilly was the Division Two winner with 35 on countback from Tony Andrews.

Joe Sacco was the Division Three winner with 41 points, r/u was John Gradie 38.

NTPs went to Paul Stuart 2nd, John Donald 18th.


Stroke was played at the Barbers Shoex day on Wednesday.

Joanne Dean with 75 net after countback collected the daily trophy.

Ball competition winners were Sharon Pyle (75), Linda Rendell (75), Enid Bain (76) and Mary Polkinghorne (76).

Simon Fuller by carding 38 stableford points claimed the PA & JL Scott Trophy at the men’s stableford competition on Wednesday.

NTP on the 18th was Chick Braybon. Ball competition winners were Martin Cruickshank, Bill Judd and Grant Wilson, who each had 33 points. The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy went to Barry Fahey.

At the Thursday afternoon Play 9 Stroke Competition Leo McNamara with 31 net claimed the voucher, with Andrew Higgins (36.5) Paul Pinnuck, Marty Piggin and Beau Makkinga, each with 37.5 net, winners in the ball competition.

With representation from the late Bill Cook’s family, travelling from Canberra and Melbourne at the weekend, good fields, made up of locals and visitors enjoyed three days of great golf during the 2019 Hutcheon & Pearce Finley Masters Tournament.

The 40th Anniversary Bill Cook Memorial 4BBB Stableford event on Saturday saw Mark O’Brien and Sel Corcoran come to the fore with 43 points, after countback from Leo and Colin McNamara, to collect the winner’s trophy.

Janet Delmenico and Margaret Lemsing’s 44 points gave them the ladies trophy with Kellie White and Christine Shaw on 39 points runners-up.

NTP on the 18th was Doug Smith and on the 13th Kath Klemke.

Ball competition winners were Bill Mansell and Grant Shaw (42), Andrew Harding and Eric Dean (41), Phil O’Brien (Royal Canberra) and Tom Deane (Belconnen Magpies) (41), Beau Makkinga and Rand Wilson (41), Sue Simpson and Marian Ayres (38), Tracey Shalders and Jenni Corcoran (38), and Linda Rendell and Joanne Dean (37).

On Sunday Ian Armer with 73 off the stick stepped up to claim the A grade scratch trophy with Andrew Deane (Belconnen Magpies) runner-up, after countback, on 80. A grade net winner was Paul Pinnuck with 70, with Sel Corcoran on 73 runner-up after countback.

Leo McNamara also survived a countback to win the B grade scratch trophy, with he and runner-up Marty Piggin both scoring 94 off the stick. B grade net winner with 68 was Beau Makkinga, finishing in front of Barry Fahey with 71.

The ladies scratch trophy also needed a countback with Kaye Sutton winning, with 91 of fthe stick, from Helen Wastle. Sue Simpson’s 72 net gave her the ladies net trophy with Dianne Cannon (Federal) on 75 the runner-up.

NTP on the 18th was Barry Fahey and on the 13th Kaye Sutton.

Ball competition winners were Jason Pyle (73), Simon DeSousa (Murrumbidgee), Darren John and Barry Wilson (74), Alan Hand (75), Ian Daniel, Robert Daniel, Wayne Peasley, Phillip O’Brien, Grant Wilson, Rand Wilson and Heather Daniel (77), and Janet Delmenico, Sue DeSousa (Queanbeyan) and Michelle O’Brien (Queanbeyan) on 78.

The tournament finished on Monday with a Mixed 4BBB Stableford Event.

Leo McNamara and Kellie White, after countback, on 43 points took the trophy while Rick Harris and Christine Shaw were runners-up.

NTP on the 13th was Maree Doyle and on the 18th Paul Pinnuck.

Ball competition winners were Paul Pinnuck and Anne Harding (42), Eric and Joanne Dean, Darren and Di Mitchell (Jerilderie), and Alan Hand and Maree Doyle (41).

At the weekend, stroke will be played on Saturday with stableford on Sunday.

Riv. Left Handed Golf

The Riverina division of National Association of Left Handed Golfers Australia played the second round of the 2019 Championships at the beautiful Black Bull golf course in Yarrawonga on Sunday, June 2.

The championships are played over three rounds,with the best two rounds counting to determine the champion.

With one round still to be played, a number of players are right in the picture to become the 2019 Champion, which makes the third round very interesting.

The third round of the championships will be played at Leeton on Sunday, October 13.

The winners were as follows:

Men’s stroke gross - 1st Steven Webster (Yarrawonga) 84; 2nd John Broster (Wagga Wagga Country Club) 85; 3rd Rod Simms (Tocumwal) 87.

Men’s stableford - 1st Rod Simms 36 c/b; 2nd Bert Adams (Tocumwal) 36.

Ladies left handers winner - Julie Penny.

Right handers stableford: 1st Dianne Randall (Junee) 36, 2nd Tracey Cotter (Leeton) 33.

NTP: Ladies 14th hole Tracey Cotter; men’s 16th hole Russell Jappe (Cobram-Barooga).

Riverina NALGA will take a break over the cold winter months, as many members head north.

A significant number of new members have joined the organisation in 2019 and this has added to the fun at the NALGA events.

If you would like any information regarding Riverina Lefties Golf, contact president Col Holdsworth on 0418 328 963.


Sunday was the only competition this weekend and the winner of the stableford event was Joe Nicholls with 37 points.

Runner-up was Paul McVicor on 35 points and ball winner was Rick Bradbury on 33 points.

Next Sunday will be stroke at 12.30pm with the next committee meeting held at 5.30pm on Friday.