Top pay rate adopted

By Southern Riverina News

The maximum allowable councillor payment has been adopted by both local councils.

Rates are set by the Local Government Remuneration Tribunal, with councils offered a payment range from which to determine fees paid to its councillors.

Both Berrigan Shire Council and Murrumbidgee Council agreed to accept the maximum, with each councillor to receive a payment of $12,160 for the next 12 months.

In addition to this payment, Berrigan Mayor Matt Hannan and Murrumbidgee Council Mayor Ruth McRae will receive a $26,530 mayor’s payment.

This is also the maximum allowable rate set by the tribunal.

Both fees have been increased by 2.5 per cent on last year.