Junior football Grand Final a success

author avatar
Winners are grinners: The Hawks pose with their premiership medals.

The Cobram and District Junior Football League has come to an end with the Grand Final and Junior Presentation night held on Friday night.

After a hard-fought Grand Final, the Franklin Hawks came home strong to take out the premiership, downing the Verner Tigers in the decider.

It was a fantastic performance by the Hawks on the day, with the side running out 6.11.47 to 2.1.13 victors.

The Beasley Family medal for best on ground went to Hawks player Sam Devincentis.

In the other game on Friday the Saint Peter’s Saints and the DJ Bombers battled out a close contest, with the Saints running out 1.12.18 to 1.3.9 to secure third place.

The league’s best and fairest was also decided on the night, with Riley Thompson taking out the award while the runner-up medal went to Eamon Hyde.

Best on ground: Peter Beasley presented Samuel Devincentis with the best on ground award for the Grand Final.

End of season awards


Coaches award: Tully Ryan

Leading goalkicker: Eamon Hyde

Runner-up B&F: Alec Corso

B&F: Eamon Hyde

Impressive season: League Best and Fairest Riley Thompson with coach Peter Francis.


Coaches award: Blake Cameron

Leading goal kicker: Samuel Devincentis

Runner-up B&F: Harrison Wilson

B&F: Xavier Franklin


Coaches award: Nash Hill

Leading goalkicker: Riley Thompson

Runner-up B&F: Oliver Ryan & Seb Pate

B&F: Riley Thompson


Coaches award: Tom Nye

Leading goalkicker: James Hickey

Runner-up B&F: James Hickey

B&F: Chase Jarjoura