Norm wins title

By Southern Riverina News


Sunday was the final round of the Berrigan Golf Club’s Club Championship with Norm Coleman claiming the A grade title with a final score of 252.

B grade winner was Jeremy O’Dwyer (274), C grade winner was Joe Nicholls (287) and Junior Champion was Lachlan O’Dwyer.

The overall winner for the day was Nicholls (88-20-68), runner-up was O’Dwyer (88-17-71).

O’Dwyer also won the putting with 27 putts and ball winners were Doug Cameron (85-13-72) and Rick Bradbury (83-10-73).

Friday’s nine hole winner was Joe Nicholls (44-10-34), runner-up was Peter Shand (42-6-36).

Putting was also won by Nicholls with 15 putts and ball winner was Chris Kelly (48-9.5-38.5).

Sunday will be stableford with tee off at 12.30pm.


Susan Pappas claimed the ladies Monthly Medal on Tuesday last week with a score 72 net.

Pappas also won Division One grade from Julie O’Brien following a countback in the fourth round silver spoon day, while gross went to Bobette Wilkinson with 85 off the stick.

Division Two gross winner was Gayle Blakey with 106. Grade winner was Maree Doyle with 75. NTPs went to Lynne Parry 2nd, Julie O’Brien 8th. Pro Pin was won by Carmel Butcher $35.

Putting comp went to Bobette Wilkinson with 23 putts.

Wednesday saw 90 men playing stableford with Division One going to Paul Jones with 38 points on countback from M Keen.

Ian Vize was the Division Two winner with 41 on countback from Albert Adams.

Bill Brady was the Division Three winner with 38 points on countback from Bryan McKenna.

NTPs went to David Purtill 2nd, Robert Dishon 8th, Stephen Piggott won the Pro Pin with $94 Pres 18th.

Men’s Gold winner was Allan Penny with 36 points followed by Laurence Rickard 33.

Finley ladies

Kaye Sutton claimed the A grade win with 32 points in the Julie O’Brien sponsored stableford event on Wednesday.

B grade was won by Kim Lawlor on 36.

NTP Kerrie Carlon on 13th and ball winners were Carlon (31), Marion Ayres (30) and Margaret Lemsing (29).


Grant Wilson, with 40 stableford points, stepped into the winner’s circle for the JDS Industries men’s competition on Wednesday.

NTP on the 18th went begging and ball competition winners were Rob Daniel (39,) John Taylor (37) and Martin Cruickshank (35).

The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy was taken out by Paul Beaver.

At the Thursday afternoon Play 9 Stroke Competition, Marty Piggin with 34.5 net stepped up to collect the voucher.

Ball competition winners were Rand Wilson (38.5) and Geoff Boscombe (39.5).

The Taylor and Whitty Two Person Ambrose event was played on Saturday, with a handy field turning out.

Rob Daniel and Greg Delmenico (Maitland) with 64.75 net took out men’s trophy.

Maree Doyle and Mary Polkinghorne were ladies winners with 75.5 net, while Leo McNamara and Kellie White were mixed winners with 70 net.

NTP on the 18th was John Taylor.

Ball competition winners were John Taylor and Bill Mansell (69), Grant Shaw and Heather Daniel (70.25), and Grant Wilson and Norm Pyle (71).

Jennie Corcoran and Tracey Shalders took out the days McDonald’s NAGA Trophy.

With rain on the forecast there was a bit of a scatter on Sunday for the Carl’s Catch of the Day stableford event.

Sel Corcoran carded 37 points to claim the men’s trophy with Margaret Lemsing on 36 points taking the lady’s trophy.

NTP on the 18th was Marty Piggin.

Ball competition winners were Chick Braybon (36), Leo McNamara (36) and Linda Rendell (35).

Barry Fahey stepped up for a McDonald’s NAGA Trophy.

SR Veterans

The July Southern Riverina Veterans Golf Association competition round was played on the Old Course at the Cobram Barooga Golf Club on Monday with 80 golfers taking part.

Stableford was played and Paul Wisniewski (Cobram/Barooga) with 36 points took the A grade trophy while Tony Hardy (Cobram/Barooga) with 35 was runner-up.

B grade winner, after countback, with 38 points was Alan Hadrell (Cobram/Barooga) with Paul Byrne (Yarrawonga/Mulwala) runner-up, also after countback.

David Lewis (Cobram/Barooga) wit 40 points took C grade with Danny Anderson (Tocumwal) following behind on 37.

A grade NTP went begging, with B grade going to Paul Byrne (Yarrawonga/Mulwala), C grade Kurt Bleckwehl (Yarrawonga/Mulwala) and All Grades went to John Burrows (Yarrawonga).

Ball winners were awarded to players with 26 points and better.