AAP Other sport

World Cup winners to take home $4 million

By AAP Newswire

Australia's cricket side will pocket $4 million in prize money if they're able to retain the World Cup in England.

The International Cricket Council has revealed details of how $10 million USD in World Cup prize money will be shared among the 10 competing teams.

The winning nation will be rewarded with $4 million, while the runners-up will take home $2 million.

Each losing semi-finalist will receive $800,000.

Aaron Finch's team, who hold the trophy after winning the 2015 MCG final against New Zealand, are also in the mix to pocket a $40,000 bonus for each league match they win.

The 50-over tournament starts on May 30 while Australia's campaign begins on June 1 against Afghanistan in Bristol.

Meanwhile, World Cup organisers have also confirmed the list of commentators who will be part of the ICC's broadcast team.

Former Australia captain Michael Clarke, who wasn't part of either Fox Cricket or the Seven Network's team during the previous summer, will join compatriots Mel Jones and Michael Slater in the commentary box.

Sourav Ganguly, Kumar Sangakkara, Brendon McCullum, Graeme Smith and Wasim Akram are some of the cricket greats who will commentate during the event.