Eagle-i win in extra time

March 29, 2018

A grade premiers (back from left) Greg Lawton, Eliza Browne, Julian Rourke, Michael Tooke, Mark Coupland and Jed Brain; (front) Justin Lawton, Ali Rourke, Matthew Clarke, Paul Evans and Anna Jewell; Absent: Cam Robertson, Maicie Close and Shaun Cable.

B Grade premiers (back from left) Jess Fuller, Cam Isedale, Shane Tremlow, Tim Price, Josh Wraight and Ross Tremlow; (front) Kylie Titlow, Lachie Tremlow, Elyse Price and Emily Ryan; Absent: Greg Lawlor and Cam Lawlor.

Extra time was needed for Eagle-i Machinery to win the Finley Touch Footy A grade premiership, with a tight 3-2 victory over Nicky’s Teapot Cafe in the grand final last Wednesday.

The fierce rivalry continued between the two teams who have both tasted premiership glory before.

The first half saw each team delivering fast and accurate attacking raids but neither team’s defence would crack.

Late in the first half fatigue set in and a small defensive lapse provided an opportunity for Jed Brain to score a long range try to break the deadlock, with Eagle-i taking a 1-0 lead into the break.

The second half started with Nicky’s Teapot bursting out of the blocks as Lachlan Small caught Eagle-i off guard scoring in the first set of the half.

The strong defence of both teams continued as Tom McCarney (Nicky’s) and Paul Evans (Eagle-i) posted the remaining tries for regular time.

With scores at two apiece on the final siren, the match went into a ‘drop-off’.

Eagle-i caught Nicky’s napping, allowing Eliza Browne to score in the corner.

Nicky’s Teapot were given one set of six to reciprocate but were unable to capitalise, crowning Eagle-i Machinery as season 2017/18 A grade premiers.

Triple 0 has ended the dominance of Yippee Try Yey in B grade, knocking off the reigning champs 4-3 in the decider.

It was a tight tussle all game between the evenly matched teams with Shane Twemlow scoring early for Triple 0.

Matt Daniel and Simon Fuller were quick to respond however giving Yippee Try Yey a 2-1 lead at half time.

An early second half try for Jai Armstrong saw Yippee out to a comfortable lead, with a three-peat on the horizon.

Triple 0’s Cam Isedale and Josh Wraight both scored in quick succession to level the game, with the stage set for an exciting finish.

Tight defence from both teams made it hard for anyone to score but a desperate late try to Elyse Price in the corner saw Triple 0 knock Yippee Try Yey off the podium to claim victory and become B grade champions.

End of season awards were also presented on the night.

Trophy winners for the 2017/18 season were as follows:

Most consistent - Simon Fuller; Most Improved - Cameron Lawler; Best and fairest male (A grade) - Matthew Wilson; Best and fairest male (B grade) - Zec Cuppens; Best and fairest female (A grade) - Allison Rourke; Best and fairest female (B grade) - Sarah Howell; Leading try scorer male - Matt Wilson; Leading try scorer female - Eliza Browne, Savannah Wilson, Lisa Waenga and Jessima Munro; Players’ Player - Harry Taylor.

Finley Touch Footy would like to thank its sponsors Finley Bowling Club, Murray Hut, Finley Shoex, Finley Quality Meats, Tuppal Hotel, Finley RSC and Barry Fahey for the support of weekly awards, trophy sponsorship and grand final prizes.

The committee would also like to extend their gratitude to Geoff Boscombe who donates his time each week to keep the fields looking great.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text