Gail nails hole-in-one

February 07, 2018

Gail Browne proudly showing off her prize after her hole-in-one.


Berrigan golfer Gail Browne recorded a hole-in-one on the 137 metre second hole on Saturday.

It was the third time that Browne has managed to card a hole-in-one, placing her second behind Maria McDonell who has hit four ‘aces’.

Saturday’s winner was Kura Goldsmith with 45-14-31.

Runner-up was Barry Browne with 43-10-33.

Joe Nicholls claimed the putting with an amazing 10 putts as well as being the ball winner.

Friday’s chook run was won by Gail Browne 39-4-35, with runner-up being Jeff Stein 45-9.5-35.5. Joe Nicholls was again the ball winner.

Sunday’s stroke competition was won by Laurie Sanders 96-29-67, with Peter Shand runner-up on 79-10-69.

Putting went to Maria McDonell with 24 putts.

Ball winners were Chris Cameron, Barry Browne and Sid Goldsmith.

Next Sunday’s competition is stableford starting at 8.30am.

A reminder to golf members that there will be a meeting on Friday at 5pm. All members welcome.


The change in the weather brought about larger numbers at all events this week.

Leo McNamara blitzed the field when he carded 41 stableford points to collect voucher the for the 18-hole medley competition on Wednesday.

Pam Angove took out NTP on the 13th.

Balls went to Maree Doyle (32), Mark O’Brien (32), Heather Daniel (31) and John Taylor (30).

Barry Fahey claimed the Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy.

In the Thursday afternoon nine-hole stroke competition, Jon Munro with 29.5 net claimed the voucher.

Balls went to Rand Wilson and Barry Fahey who each had 30 net.

On Saturday, Ian Armer with 38 points took the A grade trophy, along with the Cock of the Walk Title when stableford medley was played.

After countback Ian Daniel with 37 points claimed B grade.

Tracy Jones was NTP on the 13th and Kellie White on the 18th.

Ball comp winners were Mary Polkinghorne (37), Bill Judd (37), Marty Piggin (36), Grant Wilson (36), Pam Angove (35), Leo McNamara (35), Ray Healey (35) and Barry Wilson (35).

The NAGA trophy was claimed by Sue Simpson.

On Sunday Ian Armer continued on his winning way 39 stableford points, this time after countback, to take the voucher.

NTP on the 13th was Darren John and on the 18th Barry Fahey.

Ball winners were Andrew Harding (39), Trevor McCaw (38), Alan Hand (38) and Darren John (37).

Bob Makkinga picked up another NAGA Trophy.

The men’s summer pennant team will play Deniliquin at Yarrawonga in the grand final on Sunday.

The February Monthly Medal will be played on Saturday and stableford will be played on Sunday.


Stroke Monthly Medal was played by 70 men on Sunday with Samuel Bakes claiming the Monthly Medal, along with the Division One Grade with 68.

Ray Watmore was runner-up with 71 net.

Watmore also claimed the Division One Gross winner with a score of 74.

Division Two Gross and Grade winner was Kevin Clark with 85/70 and runner-up was Ross Clark 72.

Division Three Grade and Gross Winner was Leonard Redfern 96/71.

Runner-up went to Lindsay Gilbee 77.

NTPs went to Malcolm Dickson 8th, Stephen Conrick 17th.

Sunday also saw seven ladies playing stroke with Trish Frost taking the win with 73 net.

Men’s Gold winner was Graeme Sharp on 71 net, follwed by Noel McKay with 74.

On Tuesday we had a small field of ladies due to heavy rain that saw Denise Huy taking out Division One with 31 points on countback from Susan Pappas.

Dianne Bright was the Division Two winner with 29 points followed by Dianne Kemp 23.

NTPs went to Joan Burns 2nd, Denise Huy 8th, Shellei Clark Pro Pin $31.

Wednesday saw seven members playing off the Gold Markers with Graeme Sharp taking the win with 43 points followed by Ronald Eaton, on countback from Lindsay Gilbee.

A big field of 104 men played stableford with Division One going to Ross Percy with 37 points on countback from Shane Halloran.

Tom Keogh was the Division Two winner with 38 points on countback from Denis Frost and Division Three went to Peter Carson 39 points, Barry Wilson was runner-up on 36.

Division Four was won by Kenneth Laidlaw 39 points followed by William Brady 38.

NTPs went to Michael Cooper 2nd, Paul Olsen 14th, Michael Cooper Pro Pin $111.

Saturday had 46 ladies playing stableford with Division One going to Margaret Fergeus carding 42 points followed by Lindy Cooper on 40.

Division Two went to Nola Whiteford on 38 points with Pauline Wilson runner-up on 36.

NTPs went to Carol Irvine 2nd, Val Watmore 18th.

Men’s Gold winner was Lindsay Gilbee with 35 points.

The day saw 70 men play off the Blue Markers, with Division One going to Phil Nunn scoring 39 points, followed by Paul Olsen on 38.

Denis Garner was the Division Two winner with 44 points, followed by Craig Thurston with 42.

Chris Garnaut took out Division Three with 41 points ahead of David Webb, who finished up with 39.

NTPs went to Derek McMahon 2nd, Colin Holdsworth 18th.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text