Oz Day win for Wilson

January 31, 2018


Rand Wilson was given plenty of reason to celebrate on Australia Day, stepping up with 38 points to take the voucher for the Stableford Medley event.

Merv Percy was NTP on the 18th, Marty Piggin was the winner in the ball comp and Heather Daniel claimed the NAGA trophy.

Andrew Higgins pulled one out of the box when he carded 41 Stableford points to collect the voucher for the 18 hole Medley Competition on Wednesday.

NTP went begging on the 13th and 18th while balls went to Merv Percy, Ian Daniel and John Taylor.

After countback, the Thursday afternoon winner of the Nine Hole Stroke Competition was Jon Munro with 28.5 Net. Balls went to Bill Judd and Rand Wilson.

On Saturday, John Taylor with 36 points claimed the trophy. Jennie Hehir was NTP on the 18th. Ball winners were Leo McNamara and Grant Shaw and the NAGA trophy was claimed by Barry Fahey.

On Sunday, Ian Armer scored 67 net to take the voucher for the Stroke Medley event. Matt Daniel took the double with NTP on both the 13th and 18th and ball competition winners were Trevor McCaw, Jason Pyle and Barry Fahey.


Tuesday saw 47 ladies playing Stableford with Division One going to Wendy McLeod on 40 points. Elizabeth Quick was the Division Two winner with 37.

NTPs went to Marg Varley 14th, Joan Burns 18th, Helen Crilly had the Pro Pin $37.00.

Men’s Par Gold winner on Wednesday was Graeme Sharp, who had three-up.

Par was played by 89 men off the blue markers that saw Division One going to Terry Stokes three-up, Division Two to Colin Hough with three-up and Division Three to Ronald Loversidge with a great score of seven-up.

NTPs went to Trevor McCaw 2nd, Alan Michalkowski 8th, Carl Van Zeist Pro Pin $94, Steve Bindon Eagles nest 12C.

Friday was the first day of our summer tournament playing 4BBB Stableford with full fields on each day.

The ladies’ winning pair was Sue Holzman and Anne Pegg with 46 points, and the men’s winning pair was Greg Bianchi and Greg Harmes also with 46.

Saturday was Mixed 4BBB Stableford with Glen McCluskey/Kate Fox (Spring Valley GC) taking first place with 48 points.

Sunday was a par competion for 35 ladies and 60 men.

Ladies’ Division One went to Karli Mullins (Parkwood GC) and Division Two to Kate Fox (Spring Valley GC) with one-up. Carmel Butcher was the Division Three winner with two-up. NTPs went to Carmel Butcher 2nd, Karli Mullins 17th.

Men’s Division One winner was Peter Bolt (Lang Lang GC) with seven-up and Phil Nunn was the Division Two winner with two-up. John Freestone was the Division Three winner, finishing square. NTPs went to Aaron Dale 2nd, Dennis Frost 14th.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text