Toc. duo win final

January 31, 2018


Chris Philpot and Andrea Brown proudly represented the club last Tuesday, claiming the Murray Bowls Division State Mixed Pairs title in Cobram.

The pair overcame Cobram duo Alan Vinecombe and Brenda Smethurst, winning 21-11.

Philpot was again on the green on Sunday, where he and Effie Eaton, the respective Club Champions, played on Sunday in the Champion of Champions event.

Eaton had success on the day, claiming a 25-17 win in the first round and a 25-15 win in the quarter finals.

Unfortunately for Philpot his tournament was ended in round one, going down 18-25.

Due to the heat the remainder of the Champion of Champions finals will be played at a later date.

A reminder that we have a group of beginner ladies playing at 10am each Monday morning. This is a great time to meet some new people and learn the basics of Lawn Bowling. Just come along in flat soled shoes, we supply the bowls.

Finley BC

The Champion of Champions event for Murray Division has commenced with our champion Geoff Trevorrow eliminated in the first round by Ray Emmerson from Barooga, 25-11.

Lady Champion Nan Smith won her first game against J Niven from Numurkah Golf, 25-24, but was eliminated in round two by P Smith of Numurkah 25-21.

Nan was runner-up to Kerry in the Division’s section of the state singles recently.

There were only nine teams for the 55 and over contest held at Finley last week with Tocumwal’s Alan Jones, Geoff Seamer, and Bruce Reid the winners.

Runners-up were Bob Poore, Alan Cowan and Ron Ameer and best last game card went to Ray Wood, Norm Wilson and Karl Bergmans.

The next round will be held at Deniliquin on Tuesday.

Sunday morning bowls had limited players with Brian Anderson and Bob Poore forming the best combination.

In an earlier game, D Mulroney defeated Bob Poore, 25-20.

This event is scheduled for each Sunday for all players, and is an ideal chance to solve pennant errors.

Round 11 of pennant will be held on Saturday. All teams play at home. Please report in by 12.30pm.

Division Three play Wunghnu with the following side: Billy Smith (s), M Hannan, D McKellar, D Mulroney; S Johnson (s), T Miles, Betty Robinson, Ray Koschel; A Haines (s), B Mison, N Smith, J Montgomery.

The local derby will be played in Division Four on Saturday, when team two play team three.

Team two will wear the new shirt for identification purposes. Teams: G Trevorrow (s), B Anderson, N Wilson, B Poore; G Close (s), R Wood, T Hansford, H Taylor.

Team three will wear the old shirt. Teams: K Bergmans (s), L Bergmans, S Walsh, G Shumack; N Barnes,(s), Lawrie Walsh, Allan Cowan, T Price.

The long awaited B grade championship will be played on Thursday evening commencing at 5.30pm. Players and officials are to wear full bowling attire.

Matches for the C grade are also being arranged for this night. Players are to arrange markers or contact Ray to make appointments.

Entries are being accepted for the Ellis Thornton Memorial Rotary Medley Bowls day to be held on Wednesday, February 21.

Teams of four bowlers will play fours and pairs.

All funds raised will be used for Rotary projects, including several scholarships.

All district bowlers are invited to participate to make this a successful day.

The members draw for Sunday morning has now reached $500 and is available to those being present at drawing time.

Barefoot bowls is held on Monday evenings. Bowls are available, just wear flat soled shoes or none at all.

Tuition is given to players during the game. Entries close at 6pm for play to commence at 6.30pm.

Come as an individual, or form your own team.

Entries to Heather on 58832370, Ray on 58831631, the club on 58831324, or Des Koschel on 58831204.

Raffle roster officers: Cheryl Barnes and Tracey Miles.

Finley RSC

Well done to Ian Smethurst on winning his two games in the Division Champion of Champions on Sunday.

Smethurst won his first round 25-18 before being victorious 25-10 to move to the final four.

Di Retallick won her first game 25-10, before retiring from the tournament as the heat effected her.

Kaye Beare, Di Retallick and Karen Peacock won three games at Cobram’s Trade Day on Wednesday but missed out of the prize money.

Pennant Resumes this week with Midweek travelling to Barooga Sports name are on the board.

Division One and Three are at home on Saturday.

Selected teams are: Division One v Numurkah Golf: A West (s), D Polkinghorne, J Peacock, K Johnson; S Lunn (s), W Blanch, Kieran Beare, T Turner; J Townsing (s), M Lewis, W Lowson, R Ameer; R Brown (s), P Ellul, M Maraldo, P Wilson. Duty: S Lunn.

Division Three v Tocumwal Golf Three: Kaye Beare (s), D Retallick, N Thomas, J White; D Brown (s), K Peacock, E Maher, J Mayer; R Birthisel (s), S Malone, O Cochrane, G Beer. Duty: D Brown.


The first rounds of the Murray Bowls Division Champion of Champions singles was played on Sunday.

Paul Glanvill and Glenys McKay represented Berrigan and, on a very hot day, both were fortunate to draw a first-round bye.

In their second round game, Glanvill ran into Ian Smethurst from Finley RS in red hot form and went down 10-25.

McKay played a very tight second round match against Di Retallick from Finley RS.

Unfortunately with the score 23-20 the extreme weather took its toll on Di and she was forced to withdraw, meaning Glenys is through to the semi-final next Sunday.

Pennant returns on Friday with Berrigan travelling to Numurkah to take on the third placed Numurkah Golf.

On Saturday, the Division Two team will play Cobram at home — the return leg following the swap of fixtures earlier this season on account of the Berrigan Gold Cup.

The Division Four team are also at home, taking on Katandra West.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text