Olsen hits hole-in-one

January 17, 2018


Sunday’s par event was highlighted by a hole-in-one from Paul Olsen on the 17th.

The tremendous shot wasn’t enough for Olsen to win however, with Joel Nancarrow on +4 the Division One winner on countback from Neil Bull.

Jeffrey Conrad was the Division Two winner with +1 on countback from Russell Jappe, while Peter Maughan was the Division Three winner finishing square. NTPs went to John Thompson 10th, Paul Olsen 17th and Anthony Clement (Eagle’s Nest Captain’s 12th).

Nola Whiteford finished -1 to win the ladies section. NTP was Jean Sommerville on the 2nd.

Gold winner was Laurence Rickard -2.

On Tuesday, 64 ladies played Canadian Foursomes with Julie Penny and Noelene Duncomb taking the win with 70. NTPs went to Claire Perston 17th, Michelle Field 14th, Carmel Butcher 18th Pro Pin $48.

Wednesday saw seven members playing stableford from the Gold Markers with Noel McKay taking the win with 44 pts.

From the Blue Markers, Division One went to Rod Medland on 42 points, Division Two Mark O’Brien on 40, Division Three Alan Legatte on 37 and Division Four Lawrence Deering with 41. NTPs went to Adam Purtill 2nd, Ian Vize 8th, Phillip Dungan Pro Pin $111.

Saturday saw 49 ladies playing stableford medley with Susan Pappas taking the Division One win with 36 points on countback from Eileen Enbom. Carmel Ryan was the Division Two winner on 35. NTPs went to Claire Perston 2nd, Gayle Blakey 18th.

Men’s Gold winner was Allan Penny 33. Division One was won by Lyndon Bailey 36 points while Ian McFarlane took out Division Two with 34. John Taverna took out Division Three with 40. NTPs went to David Donchi 2nd, William Brady 8th.

Our four-ball pennant team lost 4 to against Cobram at Cobram.


On Saturday the P & A Wood stroke event was played which included the January Monthly Medal.

Rick Harris with 69 net claimed B grade along with the net medal and the Cock of the Walk Title.

Paul Pinnuck with 80 off the stick added another scratch medal to his collection, with Sel Corcoran scoring 72 net to win the Men’s A grade trophy.

Helen Wastle scooped the pool when her 81-14-67 gave her the ladies trophy, scratch medal and net medal, and also earning the putting trophy with 26 putts.

NTP on the 18th was Colin McNamara. Balls went to Kellie White (71), Wayne Peasley (73), Paul Pinnuck (73), Mark O’Brien (74), Leo McNamara (74) and Jenni Corcoran (76).

Once again there was a good turnout for the Wednesday Stableford Medley Event. Wayne Peasley with 37 points took the A grade Trophy while Rodger Sutton’s 40 points, after countback, gave him B grade. NTP on the 13th was Enid Bain and on the 18th Heather Daniel.

Balls went to Merv Percy (40), Leo McNamara (37), Jon Munro (35), Enid Bain (34), Barry Wilson (34) and Matt Daniel (34).

Martin Cruickshank returned to the winners’ circle when he carded 26 points at the nine hole competition on Thursday. Ball winners were Barry Fahey (21) and Peter Orro (20).

On Sunday, stableford medley was played. Barry Fahey with 39 points claimed the trophy. NTP on the 13th was Sue Simpson and on the 18th was Bob Makkinga. Balls went to Pam Angove (38), Leo McNamara (37), Tracy Jones (35) and Merv Percy (35).

At the weekend on Saturday it is Stroke and on Sunday Stableford Medley will be played.


Jamie Wilkinson had a weekend out on the Jerilderie course, winning both competitions held on Saturday and Sunday.

Jamie won Saturday’s par event returning a score of +3 to win from Bill Williams with +1. Ball winner was Mick Pitt, while Trent Neilson was the only golfer to win a nearest the pin (on the 5th).

Sunday saw Jamie return a net 66, to win from Laurie Blackmore on net 72. The only NTPs won were Jamie on the 7th and Laurie on the 15th.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text