Rickard claims ‘gold’ on New Year’s Eve

January 03, 2018


New Year’s Eve saw 76 men and 14 ladies playing stableford.

Men’s Gold winner was Laurence Rickard on 37 pts on countback from Noel McKay.

Division One was won by Hugo Jankov 40 pts, followed by Steve McCrae 39.

Division Two went to Stephen Grant (Glen Waverley GC) on 40 pts, with runner-up Norm Brosnan 38.

Nev Finn was the Division Three winner with 45 pts, and Ian Cameron followed on 38.

NTPs went to Phillip Lovelace 2nd, Ray Watmore 17th.

Sally Schott (Sanctuary Lakes GC) was the ladies’ winner with 40 pts. NTP was Sheilli Clark 2nd.

Saturday saw 14 ladies and 103 men playing stableford with the ladies Division One win going to Margaret Varley on 38 points on countback from Adorree Bailey.

Nola Whiteford was the Division Two winner with 38 followed by Yvonne Searle on 30.

NTPs went to Eileen Enbom 2nd, Brenda Levan (Ranfurlie GC) 18th.

The men’s Gold winner was Lindsay Gilbee on 30.

Men’s Division One went to Peter Kane (Patterson River GC) 39 points on countback from Ian Threadgold (The Vines-Reynella GC).

James Dalton (Benalla GC) was the Division Two winner with 44 pts followed by Lyndon Bailey 41.

Division Three went to Norm Brosnan 40 pts, while runner-up was Darren Bianchi 38 (RACV Cape Schanck GC).

NTPs were Bruce Enbom 2nd, Brian Dare 18th.

Five ladies played stableford on Boxing Day with Trish Frost taking the win with 35 points. Petra Wilmot was second with 32.

A par format was played on Wednesday from the white markers.

Gold winner was Noel McKay with five up.

Men’s Division One winner was Adam Purtill with five up followed by Paul Olsen with four up.

Bennie Benbow was the Division Two winner with two up. Runner-up went to Brian Dare one up.

David Webb was the Division Three winner with three up followed by Tom Keogh on square.

NTPs went to Phillip Lovelace 2nd, Tom Keogh 8th.


Boxing Day saw a small field take to the course for a stableford medley and it was Paul Pinnuck with 40 points who claimed the voucher.

Leo McNamara was NTP on the 18th and balls went to Heather Daniel (36) and Joe Moore from the Eastern Golf Club (34).

Merv Percy with 38 stableford points collected the win for the 18 hole stableford medley last Wednesday.

Sue Simpson took out NTP on the 13th, and on the 18th it was Doug Smith.

Balls went to Ian Daniel and Barry Fahey with 37 points and Lindsay Donkin with 36.

On Thursday at the 9-hole comp, John Taylor with 32.5 net claimed the voucher.

Balls went to Naldo Casanova and Leo McNamara each with 33.5 net.

There was a big turnout on Saturday when stableford medley was played.

Jenni Corcoran after a countback with 38 points claimed the A grade trophy, while Rand Wilson took B grade and, after a countback, the Cock of the Walk title.

NTP on the 13th was Kelli White and on the 18th Wayne Peasley.

Balls went to Margot Robertson (38), Leo McNamara (37), Norm Pyle (37) and Doug Smith, Mark Robertson, Grant Shaw and Wayne Peasley all with 36 points.

On New Year’s Eve, it was Helen Wastle with 37 points, after a countback, who stepped up to collect the trophy at the stableford medley competition.

Helen also took NTP on the 18th.

Balls went to Pam Angove (37), Heather Daniel (36) and Jason Pyle, Barry Fahey and Rand Wilson each with 35 points.

Only a few survived the New Year’s Eve celebrations and it was Chick Braybon with 42 points who took out the stableford medley competition the next day.

Chick also claimed NTP on the 13th and balls went to Merv Percy (37) and Leo McNamara (35).

This weekend it’s stroke on Saturday and Stableford on Sunday.


Friday December 22, nine hole comp: Winner Peter Shand 40-6-34, runner-up Barry Browne 45-10-35; putting Peter Shand 14 c/b; ball comp Joe Nicholls 47-10.

Saturday December 23, nine hole comp: Winner Jeff Stein 44-9-34, runner-up 47-10-37; putting Vic Watson 13 c/b.

Sunday December 24, 18 hole stableford comp: Jim Walliss 42, runner-up 40; ball comp Neil Graham 39.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text