May Murray Irrigation vote

December 28, 2017

Murray Irrigation interim board chair Phil Snowden.

Murray Irrigation director elections are likely to be held in May next year, with a new board taking office in June.

Interim board chairman Phil Snowden said the process was deferred from an anticipated February election following consistent feedback that Murray Irrigation shareholders wanted a considered process that was not unduly rushed.

‘‘One common issue was the need for shareholders, landholder associations and potential candidates to have greater insight and understanding into the responsibilities of the Murray Irrigation directors,’’ Mr Snowden said.

The interim board was installed following the company’s AGM last month.

All sitting board members, and those elected to the board in the earlier director elections, all stood down at the AGM amidst ongoing concerns about a performance review which found it to be ‘‘dysfunctional’’.

Other members of the interim board are founding directors Kel Baxter and Bill Hetherington, fellow director-elect Waander van Beek and shareholder Shane McNaul. Peter Mogg is an independent director.

The interim board has held a series of meetings with landholder associations and others since being formed.

‘‘Their feedback has been invaluable and the deferred election process is a reflection that we are taking many of the issues raised very seriously indeed,’’ Mr Snowden said.

‘‘The deferred election date would provide time for the company to administer proposals for any unexpected complexities that might arise.

‘‘The May election date will also enable landholder associations to identify high-calibre candidates and to process independent director nominations.’’

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text