Colin’s 12th title

December 06, 2017


A happy group of golfers and their partners enjoyed a top quality meal and night out at the 2017 Presentation Dinner of the Finley Golf Club on Friday night.

Without the difficulties caused by the weather in 2016 all of the Gold Letter and Trophy Events were played out and completed on time.

Colin McNamara claimed the title of Men’s Open Champion for the 12th time in his golfing career.

In his acceptance speech he did concede that as he is getting older it might be hard to keep on winning, possibly because it was his birthday on the night.

Kellie White who was the 2017 Ladies Open Champion managed to include everyone in her acceptance speech.

Congratulations went to all golfers who took part and made the 2017 golfing year the success it was.

Leo McNamara made it two in a row when he carded 36 stableford points and survived a countback to collect the Strategic Wealth Planning voucher for the 18 hole competition on Wednesday.

Leo also took out NTP on the 18th and the Ball Comp went to Jon Munro (36).

Rand Wilson claimed another Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy.

In the Thursday afternoon Nine Hole Stroke Competition a visitor from England, Michele Best with 29.5 net claimed the voucher.

Balls went to Naldo Casanova (31.5), Andrew Higgins (33.5) and Bob Makkinga (36).

Heavy overnight rainfall wiped out golf across the weekend along with the Southern Riverina Vets December Competition on Monday.

These programmed events have now been rescheduled across the coming weekend.


On Tuesday last week, 55 ladies played stableford that saw Division One going to Petra Wilmot with 33 points on countback from Anne Beveridge.

Division Two went to Margery Boyce who had 35 points followed by Eileen Enbom 34.

Jennie Hehir was the Division Three winner with 43 points with runner-up Pauline Wilson 32.

NTPs went to Petra Wilmot 2nd, Julie O’Brien 14th, Pamela Richardson Pro Pin $40.

Wednesday saw 90 men playing stableford with the Gold winner being Walter Atkins, who had 31 points.

Men’s Division One Blue Marker winner was Aaron Dale with 41 points followed by Paul Olsen 39.

Division Two winner was Tom Keogh with 37 points on countback from Colin Holdsworth.

Peter Maughan took out Division Three with 37 points on countback from Lindsay Bright.

NTPs went to Albert Adams 2nd, Colin Wearne 8th.

Due to heavy rain overnight Friday we had a small field on Saturday with five ladies and 13 men.

Ladies Division One winner was Marlene Baily who had 34 points.

NTP went to Val Hedwards 18th.

Men’s Division One winner on the White Course was Steven Geall who had 44 points followed by Paul Harrison 41 points.

NTP went to Millorad Gelic 18th.

Sunday saw 12 ladies playing stroke with Sue Lawson winning with 74 net.

Men’s Gold winner was Graeme Sharp with 70 net.

John Henry claimed the Monthly Medal with an impressive score of 71 net.

Henry also took out top honours of Division Two, winning the scratch with 86, as well as gross and grade with 71, with Walter Porcaz the Division Two runner-up with 73 net.

Division One gross winner was Ken Gregory (Murray Downs GC) with 79.

Division One net winner was Mark O’Brien 72 and grade winner was Ken Gregory again with 73.

Bennie Benbow dominated Division Three winning gross 94 and grade 72. Runner-up was Gerry Lawson 73.

NTPs went to Ricky Bourke 8th, Steven Geall 17th.

Pennant saw Tocumwal win 3/2 against Shepparton in the Scratch Division.

Men’s Summer 4BBB Pennant saw Tocumwal going down to Yarrawonga 3 to 1.


Sunday December 3, stableford medley:

L Blackmore 35, r/u W Williams 33.

NTP 5th and 13th L Blackmore, 15th W Williams.

Ben Hollis from Queensland, who was on his way to the PGA Qualifying School in Melbourne, called in for a practice round in Jerilderie.

The club wishes Ben luck and hopes he makes the cut.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text