Leo’s winning streak

August 02, 2017


Leo McNamara continued his winning ways with 36 stableford points and surviving a countback to step into the winners’ circle at the men’s Wednesday competition.

NTP on the 18th was Ian Armer and a golf ball went to Matt Daniel (36).

The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy was won in fine style by Simon Fuller.

At the Thursday afternoon nine hole stroke competition it was Andrew Higgins with 29.5 net who collected the voucher.

Balls went to Leo McNamara (30.5) and Gaye Henderson (31).

On Saturday the Subway Stableford event was played and saw Wayne Peasley carding 32 points and surviving a countback to claim the men’s A grade trophy while Chick Braybon with 36 points took B grade along with NTP on the 18th and the Cock of the Walk title.

Julie O’Brien with 35 points accepted the ladies trophy as well as NTP on the 13th.

Balls went to Leo McNamara (35), Enid Bain (33) and Beth White, Andrew Harding, Paul Pinnuck and Marty Piggin all with 32 points.

Sunday was the Hong Loch Restaurant stroke event and it was Ian Armer with 68 net who took the men’s trophy and Julie O’Brien’s 73 net gave her the ladies trophy.

Sue Simpson with 27 putts claimed the ladies putting trophy.

NTP on the 18th went to Billy Smith and balls went to Marty Piggin (73), Mark O’Brien (74) and Gaye Henderson (77).

This Saturday is stableford and stroke on Sunday.


There were 36 ladies playing par on Tuesday last week that saw Division One won by Susan Davies with -1 followed by Michelle Purtill with -2.

Division Two was won by Robyn Benbow who had square on countback from Mary McMahon.

NTPs went to Robyn Conrick 14th, Val Watmore 18th, Shellei Clark (Pro Pin).

Eighty-eight men played stableford on Wednesday with Division One going to Tony Kelly with 39 points with Barry Gook taking runner-up with 38.

Division Two was won by Doug Pocknee (Cobram Barooga GC) who had 40 points followed by Vince Gallo 39.

Colin Mawdsley was the Division Three winner with a fantastic score of 43 points, Simon Klaver (Cobram Barooga GC) took runner-up with 40.

NTPs went to Phillip Tribolet 2nd, Doug Pocknee 8th, Derek McMahon 2nd, Bryan Eddy (Pro Pin $89). The ‘shot of the day’ went to Ian Vize who carded an eagle on the 3rd.

On Saturday there were 27 ladies and 34 men playing par with ladies Division One going to Vicki Kelly with +1.

NTPs went to Trish Frost 2nd, Lynne Parry 14th.

Men’s Division One was won by Hugo Jankov with +4 followed by Ben Kerr who had +3, while David Webb was the Division Two winner with square on countback from Gerry Lawson.

NTPs went to Ben Kerr 2nd, Patrick Boake 14th.

Sunday saw six ladies and 50 men play stableford with ladies winner going to Robyn Conrick with 32 points.

NTP went to Pamela Van Huizen 2nd.

Men’s Division One winner was Mark Conway with 36 points followed by Paul Olsen 35.

Division Two went to John Washbrook who had 36 points with Robert Ireland taking runner-up 35, and Warren Yardy was the Division Three winner with 37 and William Tendeson runner-up with 36 pts.

NTP: Warren Yardy 2nd, Robert Crow 17th.


Sunday, July 23 stroke event winner Trent Neilson 92/65, r/u Rod Dowling 89/69.

Ball comp: Laurie Blackmore 81/72, Dave Legge 88/73.

NTP: 5th and 7th Rod Dowling, 10th Dave Legge.

Saturday, July 29 stableford winner Jenny Pitt 36, r/u Laurie Henery 35.

NTP: 10th Mike Pitt, 13th Laurie Henery, 15th Dave Legge.

Sunday, July 30 stableford winner Scott McGillivray 34, r/u J Wilkinson.

NTP: 13th and 15th Laurie Blackmore.

Finley ladies

Finley Pharmacy stroke/brooch winner: Margaret Lemsing 100 (28) 72 net c/b.

Brooch winner: Margaret Lemsing; Scratch winner: Helen Wastle 90.

Putting: Joanne Dean 27 putts.

Ball comp: Pam Angove 72, Sue Simpson 75, Helen Wastle 75.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text