Finley pair win four-ball final

July 26, 2017


Four Finley golfers travelled to Griffith on Saturday to represent their club at the WRDGA playoff for 2017 NSW Men’s Keno 4-Ball Championships.

It was last minute replacement pair Bob Ross and Marty Piggin who stole the day with +8 to earn the right to represent the WRDGA at the final to be held at the Bonville Golf Resort from October 3 to 6.

After surviving a count-back it was Leo McNamara with 34 points who took the Carl’s Catch of the Day daily trophy when stableford was played at the men’s 18 hole competition on Wednesday.

A ball went to Rodger Sutton (34) and the Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA was won in fine style by Barry Fahey.

At the Thursday afternoon nine hole stroke competition it was Rand Wilson with 37 net who stepped up to collect the voucher.

Balls went to Barry Fahey (39) and Martin Cruickshank (39.5).

Saturday was the Sutto’s Bobcat stableford event and it was Leo McNamara with 38 points who stepped up again to take the men’s trophy while Mary Polkinghorne’s 30 points gave her the ladies trophy.

NTP on the 18th went to John Taylor.

Balls went to Sel Corcoran, Paul Pinnuck and Dale Pyke all with 32 points.

Along with the day’s competition the President and Captain’s Trophy was decided for 2017 and it was Barry Fahey who presented the trophy to club captain Rand Wilson whose team were the 2017 winners.

On Sunday, the HQ Gym stroke event was played and saw Dave Brockie card 72 net to claim the Men’s A grade trophy as well as the Cock of the Walk title.

Men’s B grade winner was Billy Smith with 74 net while Mary Polkinghorne with 75 net accepted the ladies trophy as well as the ladies putting trophy with 30 putts.

NTP on the 18th was Barry Wilson and balls went to Colin McNamara (74), Marty Piggin, Bob Ross and Leo McNamara all with 75 net and Sue Simpson (78).

This Saturday it’s stableford and on Sunday stroke will be played.


Tuesday saw 29 ladies playing stableford with Division One going to Sharon Pyle who had 34 points.

Val Watmore was the Division Two winner with 33 points and NTPs went to Jill Collins (18th) and Helen Crilly (Pro Pin $25).

Seventy-eight men played par on Wednesday that saw Ian Vize taking out Division One with 1-up on countback from Ray Watmore.

Division Two went to Christopher Longhurst (Camden GC) who had 1-up, John Washbrook was runner-up with square.

Division Three was won by Thomas Wilton with 4-up followed by Geoffrey Jones 2-up.

NTPs went to Adam Purtill 2nd, Caleb Bovalina 8th, Bryan Eddy (Pro Pin $82).

There were 29 ladies and 44 men playing stableford on Saturday with ladies Division One winner being Helen Crilly with 37 points.

Division Two was won by Beverley Campbell who had 41.

NTPs went to Helen Crilly 2nd, Ros Seymour 17th.

Men’s Division One winner was Mark O’Brien with 40 points followed by Aaron Dale (Howlong GC) with 36.

Division Two went to William Brady who had 39 points with runner-up going to Terry Mullens 38.

NTPs went to Mark O’Brien 2nd, Fred Tyers (Foster GC) 17th.

On Sunday there were seven ladies playing stableford with Trish Frost the winner with 33 points.

NTP went to Gina Brown 2nd.


Friday nine hole chook run winner: Barry Browne 45-34, r/u Syd Goldsmith 50-36.

Putting: Barry Browne 12.

Saturday nine hole winner: Peter Shand 39-32, r/u Lee Campbell 57-24.

Ball comp: Barry Browne 45-34.

Putting: Gail Browne 14.

Sunday 18 hole winners: Barry Browne and Wayne Crew 93 net, r/u Joe Nicholls and Paul McVicar 97 net.

Men’s four-ball champions:

Scratch: Rick Bradbury and Jeff Stein; Handicap: Barry Browne and Wayne Crew.

Coming Events: Sunday, July 30 stableford 12.30pm tee off.

Finley ladies

Lavee Nail & Beauty stableford winner: Beth White (27) 33.

Ball comp: Helen Wastle 32, Joanne Dean 29, Sharon Pyle 28.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text