Blackmore claims championship

July 19, 2017


Saturday July 1, stableford winner: Dave Legge 39, r/u Kath Williams 36.

NTP: 5th and 16th Laurie Blackmore, 10th Jenny Pitt, 13th Kath Williams.

Sunday July 2, men’s first round championship: Scott McGillivray 93/69 c/b, r/u Dave Legge 84/69.

NTP: 5th and 15th Dave Legge, 13th Mike Pitt, 16th Luke Keating.

First round leaders: A grade Laurie Blackmore 79 scratch; B grade Dave Legge 84; C grade Scott McGilliuray 93.

Sunday July 9, men’s second round championship: Luke Keating 89/70, r/u Jenny Pitt 92/72 c/b.

Ball comp: Wayne Neilson 98/72, Laurie Blackmore 82/74.

NTP: 7th Trent Neilson, 12th Jenny Pitt

Second round leaders: A grade Laurie Blackmore 161; B grade Dave Legge 173; C grade Scott McGilliuray 198.

Sunday July 16, men’s third round championship: Laurie Blackmore 81/72, r/u Trent Neilson 101/74.

NTP: 5th Scott McGilliuray, 7th Dave Legge, 10th Wayne Neilson.

Championship winners: A grade Laurie Blackmore 242, B grade Dave Legge 264, C grade Scott McGilliuray 299.


Leo McNamara with 36 points stepped up to claim the trophy at Wednesday’s men’s 18 hole stableford competition.

NTP on the 18th was Martin Piggin while balls went to Martin Cruickshank (34) and Piggin. The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy was claimed by Chick Braybon.

At the Thursday 9-hole stableford competition, Peter Orro had 28 points to come out on top.

Balls went to Martin Cruickshank (21) and Jon Munro (21).

Stableford was played on Saturday when Merv Percy with 38 points claimed the Essential Hair and Beauty Trophy while Sharon Pyle with 34 claimed the ladies’ Rich Glenn Olives Trophy.

John Taylor was NTP on the 18th with Beth White on the 13th.

Balls went to Leo McNamara (36), Marty Piggin (34), Rand Wilson (34), Margaret Lemsing (31), Anne Wood (30) and Mary Polkinghorne (30).

Norm Pyle and Kellie White collected NAGA trophies.

On Sunday the Eagle I Monthly Medal was played.

After a countback Barry Wilson, who carded 72 net, took the daily men’s A grade trophy.

Bill Judd also with 72 net took the B grade and after countback claimed the net medal as well as the Cock of the Walk title.

Dave Brockie with 72 off the stick claimed another scratch medal.

Sharon Pyle backed up her Saturday win with 90-18-72 to take the ladies daily trophy as well as the scratch and net medals.

Janette Delmenico claimed the putting trophy with 28 putts.

NTP on the 18th went to Colin McNamara.

Balls were awarded to Damien Angove (The Grange) (72), Dave Brockie (73), Rand Wilson (74), Chick Braybon (75), Grant Wilson (75), Mark O’Brien (75), Sue Simpson (77) and Margaret Lemsing (77). Merv Percy stepped up for the day’s NAGA Trophy.

This weekend it’s the President’s and Captain’s Day on Saturday and stroke will be played on Sunday.


On Tuesday the ladies played 4BBB stableford qualifying round Seiter’s Shield that saw Division One going to Margery Boyce and Wendy Bedford with 44 points followed by Anne Freestone and Jill Allen who had 43.

NTPs went to Julie Penny 2nd and Pro Pin ($29), Shellei Clark 8th.

Wednesday saw 44 pairs of men playing 4BBB stroke with Division One going to Michael Cooper and playing partner Dale, who had 63. Runners-up were Rodney Samways and Hugo Jankov on 64.

NTPs went to Lawrence Deering 14th, Ian McFarlane 18th, Darren John (Pro Pin $88).

Saturday was a four person stableford medley best three of four scores event which saw Michael Cooper, John Taverna, Robin Taverna and Bruce Cavanagh taking the win with a tremendous score of 112.

Runners-up went to Ross Clark, Shellei Clark, Bruce Enbom and Eileen Enbom who had 109. NTPs went to Julie Penny and Brian Dare 2nd, Margaret Varley and Bruce Enbom 18th.

Sunday saw 11 ladies and 54 men playing stableford which saw ladies Division One going to Petra Wilmot with 31 points. Petra also had NTP on the 2nd.

Men’s Division One went to Mark Conway who had 39 points followed by Darren Mitchell on 38. Division Two went to Patrick Boake with 36 and runner-up was Alan Good 32.

Gerry Lawson was the Division Three winner with 37 with William Tendeson taking runner-up with 34. NTPs went to Jason Kerr 2nd, Ray Watmore 17th.


Friday nine hole chook run winner: Wayne Crew 48-15-34, r/u Beau Walliss 50-10-37. Putting: Barry Browne 15.

Saturday nine hole winner: Joe Nichols 43-11-32, r/u Neil Graham 45-12-33.

Putting: Ed Morgan 11. Ball comp: Jeff Stein 45-10-35.

Sunday 18 hole winners: Syd Goldsmith 40, r/u John Strelec 37.

Ball comp: Joe Nichols 36, Barry Browne 34 c/b. NTP: Ashley Batten.

Coming Events: Sunday, July 23 - Men’s four-ball championships stroke, 27 Hole competition at 10.30am tee off, arrange own partner; 18 hole competition at 12.30pm.

Finley ladies

Caradon Lodge four-ball v par winners: Kellie White (13) and Christine Shaw (24) 3-up

NTP: 13th Kath Klemke. Ball comp: Sue Simpson and Marian Ayres 2-up, Enid Bain and Jane McPhee 1-up, Heather Daniel and Beth White 2-down.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text