Bradbury wins championship

July 05, 2017


Club Championships winners: A grade - Rick Bradbury (254), B grade - Jeff Stein (281), C grade - Jim Walliss (279).

Friday nine hole Chook Run winner: Jeff Stein (44-10-34), r/u Syd Goldsmith (50-14-35).

Putting: Jeff Stein (14). Ball comp: Peter Shand (44-6-37).

Saturday nine hole winners: Peter Shand and Val Chisolm (+7), r/u Jeff Stein and Pam Hunt (+6).

Ball comp: Clive and Wyn Fossey (+5).

Sunday 18 hole winner: Jim Walliss (91-22-69), r/u Jeff Stein (90-20-70).

Putting: Rick Bradbury 26 putts. Ball comp: Rick Bradbury (83-19-74).

Upcoming events: Sunday, July 23 - Men’s 27 hole fourball championships, 10.30am tee-off time.


On Tuesday we had 41 ladies playing stableford on the Captain’s Course that saw Division One going to Bobette Wilkinson with 35 points followed by Kerry Conrad who had 34.

Division Two went to Wendy Bedford with 37, runner-up was won by Janet Mahoney 33.

NTPs were won by Sandra Williams 2nd, Margaret Fergeus 17th.

Wednesday saw 97 men playing stableford on the President’s Course with Division One won by Jeffrey Harris who had 41 points, Adam Purtill took runner-up with 40.

Alan Herbert was the Division Two winner with 36, followed by Robert Dishon (Cobram-Barooga GC) 35.

Division Three was won by Douglas Smith with 37 on countback from Vince Gallo.

NTPs went to Sid Roughsedge 2nd, Ray Watmore 14th.

Saturday and Sunday was the running of our first Tocumwal Two Day Open Stroke Event for ladies and men that had players coming from near and far.

Ladies stroke winner was Shanaiah Fernando (Yarra Yarra GC) with 154 after a one-hole playoff against Kristi Bilkey (Neangar Park GC).

Third place went to Steffanie Vogel (Cobram-Barooga GC) 155 and fourth place was Danika Coyne (Woodford GC) 160 on countback from Adele Huggard (Southern GC).

Men’s stroke winner was Chris Tomlinson (Cobram-Barooga GC) with 142 followed by Caleb Bovalina (Commonwealth GC) 145.

Third place went to Greg Allan (Jubilee GC) 150 followed by Matthew Lever (Moonah Links GC) 151.

Overall it was a highly successful tournament and our main sponsor has said they will be back next year to fund the tournament again.

Net scores will be available next week.


The men took to the course for the Local Dentist Stableford Competition on Wednesday.

Leo McNamara with 37 points took the daily trophy.

NTP on the 18th was Matt Daniel and balls went to Barry Fahey (36) and Tony Ryan (35).

The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA was won in fine style by Rand Wilson.

At the Thursday afternoon nine hole stroke competition it was Andrew Higgins with 30.5 net who stepped up to collect the voucher.

Balls went to Rand Wilson (31) and Martin Cruickshank (33.5).

It was the R&T Anderson par three day on Saturday with a good field turning out.

Grant Wilson with 51.25 managed to win by half a shot in the men’s event while it was Enid Bain who blitzed the rest with 49.5 to take out the ladies event.

NTP on the 13th went to Gay Henderson and the 18th Leo McNamara.

Balls were awarded to Ian Daniel (51.75), Grant Shaw (52.75), Billy Smith (54.75), Andrew Higgins (55), Rick Harris (55.25), Nella McNamara (56.75) and Gay Henderson (57.5).

NAGA trophies were claimed by Kellie White and Bob Makkinga.

Sunday’s CIF Trading stroke event was highlighted with an eagle two on the 364-metre par four 15th by Darren John, who after a countback with 72 net went on to take the men’s A grade trophy as well as NTP on the 18th.

Merv Percy with 69 net claimed the men’s B grade trophy along with the Cock of the Walk Title.

Enid Bain backed up her Saturday win with a 71 net to claim the ladies trophy.

Ladies putting went to Gay Henderson with 29.

Balls went to Barry Fahey (69), Mark O’Brien (72), Julie O’Brien (72), Bill Fahey (73) (Dorrigo), Rick Harris (74), Grant Wilson (74), Ita Fahey (75) (Dorrigo) and Margaret Lemsing (76).

Leo McNamara and Pam Angove accepted NAGA trophies.

At the weekend on Saturday a two person ambrose will be played and stableford on Sunday.

Finley ladies

Finley Motel vs par winner: Naomi Pryse (43) square on c/b.

NTP: 13th Margot Robertson.

Ball comp: Helen Wastle (square), Margaret Lemsing (-2), Sharon Pyle (-2).

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text