Piggin cards 36 points for Wednesday victory

June 28, 2017


A ‘Martin’ once again stepped up to claim the trophy at Wednesday’s men’s 18 hole stableford competition, but this time it was Martin Piggin who had carded 36 points.

The other Martin, Martin Cruickshank (34 points), won a ball, as did Rand Wilson (34). The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy was claimed by John Lacy.

At the Thursday nine hole stroke competition, Barry Fahey came out on top with 30 net to claim the voucher.

Balls went to Andrew Higgins (30.5) and Jon Munro (31.5).

On Saturday the J & M Doyle Monthly Medal was played.

Dave Brockie, by carding 72-1-73 claimed the daily A grade trophy along with the Scratch Medal.

Rick Harris with 69 net took the B grade men’s trophy and also claimed the Net Medal and Cock of the Walk title.

Kath Klemke with 71 net took the daily trophy as well as the June Club Brooch and putting trophy with 29 putts.

NTP on the 18th went to Paul Pinnuck.

Balls were awarded to Merv Percy (70), Chick Braybon (72), Billy Smith (74), Paul Pinnuck (75), Alan Hand (75), Rand Wilson (75) and Heather Daniel (75).

Peter Wood stepped up for the NAGA Trophy.

Stableford was played on Sunday when Merv Percy with 41 points took the Local Dentist Trophy while Janet Delmenico with 30 claimed the ladies trophy.

Ray Watmore (Tocumwal) won NTP on the 18th with Janet Delmenico NTP on the 13th.

Balls went to Sel Corcoran (40) and Marty Piggin (36).

Mick Cooper (Tocumwal) claimed the NAGA trophy.

At the weekend it is Par Three Day on Saturday and stroke will be played on Sunday.


On Tuesday last week the ladies held their Doris Chambers Foursomes Stableford day with 17 pairs taking part.

Ros Seymour and Sandra Williams were the winners on the day with 37 points.

In second place was the team of Sharon Pyle and Pauline Wilson who had 36 points on countback from Margery Borce and Wendy Bedford and the team of Robin Benbow and Gayle Edwards.

Wednesday saw 89 men playing stableford on the Captain’s Course with Division One going to Darren John (Finley GC) with 36 points followed by Doug Perrett on 35.

John Bradbury was the Division Two winner with 35 points on countback from Martin Studwick.

Division Three went to Warren Constable with 38 points followed by John Carroll, 37.

NTPs went to Stewart Crawford 2nd, Robert Dishon 8th and Kevin Waller (Pro Pin).

On Saturday there were 28 ladies and 58 men playing stableford on the President’s Course with ladies Division One going to Kerri McKenna (Lang Lang GC) with 39 points.

Division Two was won by Pauline Wilson who had 34.

NTP went to Lindy Cooper 2nd.

Men’s Division One was won by Mal McKenna (Lang Lang GC) with 38 points with runner-up Paul Olsen on 37.

Division Two was won by Brian Morgan who had 37 points on countback from Kevin Waller.

Warren Yardy was the Division Three winner also on 37 on countback from Ronald Crow.

NTPs went to Brett Molnar 2nd and Glenn Newton (Hill Top) 18th.

Finley ladies

Wednesday, June 21 Gaye Maxwell Massage Therapy stableford winner: Kaye Sutton 35.

NTP: 13th Kaye Sutton. Ball comp: Kath Klemke 34, Sharon Pyle 33, Margaret Lemsing 33, Sue Simpson 33.


Friday nine hole chook run winner: G Browne 34, r/u P Shand 36 c/b.

Putting: G Browne 14 c/b. Ball winner: F Albert.

Saturday nine hole winner: C Kelly 31 , r/u J Stein 33 c/b.

Ball comp: J Nicholls.

Sunday 18 hole winner: J Stein 38, r/u C Kelly 32.

Berrigan Golf Club will hold play mixed four ball on Saturday and stroke on Sunday.


Sunday June 25, Yankee four ball medley winners: Mike and Jenny Pitt 69.1, r/u Dave Legge and Scott McGilllivray 69.3.

NTP: 5th Jenny Pitt, 7th and 15th Dave Legge.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text