Martin hits back

June 21, 2017


He’s back, after a two week break Martin Cruickshank with 38 stableford points stepped back into the winner’s circle at the Sun Valley Australia Men’s competition on Wednesday.

NTP on the 18th was John Taylor and balls went to Merv Percy (34) and Ian Armer (32).

The jackpotted Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy was won in fine style by John Lacy.

At the Thursday afternoon nine hole stableford competition it was Peter Orro with 26 points who collected the voucher.

Balls went to Bob Makkinga (23), Geoff Boscombe (23), John Lacy (20), John Taylor (20) and Andrew Higgins (20).

Saturday was the Mark’s Trimming and Upholstery stroke event and it was Billy Smith with 68 net who took the men’s trophy while Sharon Pyle’s 72 net gave her the ladies trophy and her 28 putts the ladies putting trophy.

NTP on the 18th went to Alex Krause (Howlong).

Balls went to Barry Fahey (73), Dave Brockie (74), Rand Wilson (74) and Heather Daniel (75).

On Sunday, the Tuppal Dairy Stableford event was played and saw Billy Smith make it a weekend double when he carded 37 points and survived a countback to claim the men’s trophy along with the Cock of the Walk title.

Sue Simpson with 39 points accepted the ladies trophy.

NTP on the 13th was Tracy Jones and on the 18th Martin Cruickshank.

Balls went to Joanne Dean (38), Jason Pyle (37), Sel Corcoran (36) and Rick Harris (35).

This Saturday is Monthly Medal, and Stableford on Sunday.

First round matches of the Men’s Kelly Single Knock Competition must be completed.


On Tuesday the ladies played Stableford Mulligans with 12 teams of four.

Trish Frost, Dianne Bright, Shirley Desally and Mary McMahon were the winners with 94 on countback from Ann Brown, Kerry Conrad, Bette Bowes, Val Stark.

Third place went to Eileen McGinn, Jo Boake, Sue Lawson and Julie O’Brien with 92.

Ninety-three men played stroke on Wednesday which saw Division One going to Malcolm Hart who had 70 net, followed by Paul Jones with 71.

Division Two was won by Ian Vize with 68 net, Stephen Conrick was runner-up on 71.

Tony Simons was the Division Three winner with 69 on countback from Lawrence Deering.

NTPs went to Terry Olsen 2nd, Robert Ireland 8th, Rick Tyler Pro Pin.

Saturday saw 29 ladies and 46 men playing Stableford on the Captain’s Course with Ladies Division One going to Janie Hills with 32 points.

Division Two went to Cherryl Rossborough with 37.

NTPs went to Sue Lawson 2nd, Jillian Collins 17th.

Men’s Division One was won by Bruce Matthews 37 points followed by Brian Wilson on 35.

Joe Sacco was the Division Two winner with 37 points on countback from William Tendeson.

NTPs went to George Martin 2nd, Fred Rossborough 17th.

On Sunday we had 12 ladies and 61 men playing stableford with Petra Wilmot the Division One ladies winner with 37 points.

The Men’s Division One win went to Stephen Conrick on 37, followed by Geoffrey Quick 36.

Terry Stokes was the Division Two winner with 39 on countback from Dennis Frost.

Division Three was won by Norm Brosnan who had 40 points, with runner-up going to James Wilson with 38.

Finley ladies

The JT & EN Close Monthly Medal winner on Wednesday, June 14 was Janet Delmenico, 96-22-74.

Scratch ball: Sharon Pyle 93.

Putting: Janet Delmenico 30.

Ball comp: Sharon Pyle, Margaret Lemsing, Gay Henderson 76, Kay Sutton 77.


Friday nine hole chook run winner was Dennis Ryan on 48-15-33, r/u Wayne Crew 49-15-34.

Putting: Dennis Ryan 13.

Ball winner: Jeff Stein.

Saturday nine hole winner: Leo Curtis 45-11-33, r/u Joe Nicholls 47-11-35.

Putting: Ned Morgan 12. Ball comp: Kura Goldsmith.

Sunday 18 hole winner: Chris Kelly 38, r/u Joe Nicholls 34.

Ball comp: Mark Rooney, Peter Shand.

Berrigan Golf Club will hold a four-ball best ball mixed pairs event on Sunday.


Saturday, June 17 par winner: Mike Pitt +3, r/u Jenny Pitt square.

NTP: 5th Bill Williams; 7th Kath Williams; 13th Mike Pitt; 15th Jenny Pitt.

Sunday, June 18, stroke winner: Phil Gregory 90-21-69, r/u Laurie Henery 90-20-70.

NTP: 5th Craig Heath; 7th Darren Mitchell; 15th Jenny Pitt.

Stableford will be played on Saturday and on Sunday it will be the Sunday Yankee four-ball medley.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text