White wins Women’s Championship

June 14, 2017

Finley women's champinons (from left) Margaret Lemsing (C grade), Kellie White (A grade) and Janet Delmenico (B grade).

Finley ladies

The final round of the Women’s Championships for 2017 have been completed.

Congratulations to all grade champions and participants over the past three weeks who enjoyed perfect weather for golf.

The open and A grade champion was Kellie White (13) with rounds of 90, 88 and 93 for a total of 271.

Helen Wastle (13) with rounds of 90, 97 and 95 (282) was runner-up, while Kay Sutton (18) with 98, 97 and 91 (286) was third.

The B grade champion was Janet Delmenico (21) after a three way playoff with Gay Henderson (21) and Julie O’Brien (23) all finishing with totals of 299.

Janet won on the fourth playoff hole from Gay.

Janet had rounds of 104, 95 and 100 (299); Gay had 99, 97 and 103 (299); and Julie with 95, 107 and 97 (299).

The C grade champion was Margaret Lemsing (27) with rounds 107, 104 and 103 to total 314.

Runner-up was Annie Wood (28) with 112, 107 and 108 (327) followed by Kerrie Carlon (31) with 109, 112 and 113 (334).

The final round of the championships was sponsored by GC & JC McPhee.

Winner was Heather Daniel 95 (23) 72 nett, and runner-up Kay Sutton 91 (18) 73.

Scratch - Kay Sutton 91; putting - Helen Wastle 26.

Ball comp: Julie O’Brien 74, Margaret Lemsing 76, Sue Simpson, Kim McCaw 77, Janet Delmenico 79, Marian Ayres 80 on countback.


On Tuesday there were 50 ladies playing the Monthly Medal (stroke) that saw Michelle Field the Division One winner with a gross 80 and nett 76. Bev Richard was r-up also with 76 nett.

Division Two gross winner was Valerie Stark with 97 who also claimed the nett win with 73; Margery Boyce was the Division Three gross winner with 101, while nett went to Katie Wren 69.

Boyce was the Monthly Medal winner with 72 nett.

NTP: Julie Penny 2nd, Michelle Field 17th. Putting - Valerie Stark.

Wednesday saw 93 men playing stableford with Division One going to Caleb Bovalina with 37 pts followed by Bryan Eddy with 34.

Club captain Mick Keen was the Division Two winner with 37 pts on c/b from John Hepworth; Division Three went to Brian Dare who had 37 pts on c/b from Bruce Hadley.

NTP: Terry Stokes 2nd, Norm Brosnan 8th, Ian Taylor the Pro Pin $75.

Saturday was the start of the Winter Tournament - Mixed Canadian Foursomes with 77 pairs taking part.

First place went to Jaeger and Kemp who had 73.62. In second place was Southwell and Bovalina with 74, third I Butler and L Butler (Wodonga GC) with 74.12.

Sunday was the Ladies Winter Tournament 4BBB Stableford with 36 pairs taking part. The winners were Bennett and Sinclair who had 43 pts.

Second was Watmore and O’Brien with 40 pts, and third Heading and Dorahy (Spring Valley GC) with 39 pts.

Thirty-four men’s pairs played 4BBB in the Stableford Winter Tournament with Strang and Bradbury taking first with 45 pts.

In second place was Morgan and Smith (Sanctuary Lakes GC) who had 44 pts on c/b from Jankov and Samways.

Monday saw 61 ladies playing stableford in the final day of the Winter Tournament.

Division One was won by Michaela Hazeltine (Rosanna GC) with 33 pts followed by Gale Tyers (Foster GC) with 31.

Karen Tremewen (Heritage GC) was the Division Two winner with 34 pts and r-up going to Maria Warburton (Lang Lang GC) 33 pts; Division Three went to Robyn Benbow with 32 pts with r-up going to Netta Battye (Rosebud GC) 30 pts.

NTP: Marianne Stoettrup (Gisborne GC) 2nd, Kerrie Davey (Lang Lang GC) 18th.

Seventy-three men played stableford with Division One going to Clint Dickins (Commercial Resort) with 35 pts. Runner-up was Jason Buchanan 34.

Keith Stockdale (Lang Lang GC) was the Division Two winner with 34 pts on c/b from Ian Francis (Portland GC); Peter Brunt (Rosanna GC) was the Division Three winner who had 37 pts followed by Lindsay Simms (Kyabram Parkland) 36.

NTP: David Gribbs 2nd, Ben Kerr 18th.


Paul Pinnuck with 35 points claimed the NAB Agribusiness Trophy at the men’s stableford on Wednesday.

NTP on the 18th was Matt Daniel. Balls went to Rodger Sutton and Marty Piggin who each had 34 points. The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy jackpotted.

A small but select group took to the course for the Thursday afternoon nine hole stableford.

Naldo Casanova with 24 points claimed the voucher, with Bill Judd (23) and Martin Cruickshank (23) receiving balls.

In perfect weather with representation from the late Bill Cook’s family travelling from Canberra at the weekend, good fields made up of locals and visitors enjoyed three days of great golf during the 2017 Hutcheon & Pearce Finley Masters Tournament.

The Bill Cook Memorial 4BBB Stableford event on Saturday saw Finley’s Billy Smith and Marty Piggin come to the fore with 47 points to collect the winners’ trophy.

After a countback, Dale Pyke and Paul Pinnuck with 41 points stepped up for the runners-up trophy.

Helen Wastle and Enid Bain had 38 points to collect the ladies’ trophy, with Sue Simpson and Beth White on 39 runners-up.

NTP: 13th Sue Simpson, 18th Tony Quirk (Queanbeyan). Ball comp: Rand Wilson and Bob Makkinga with 41 points, Barry Fahey and John Lacy 40, Ian Neill and Michael Cannon (Federal Canberra) 38, Leo McNamara and Simon DeSousa (Murrumbidgee Country Club) 37, Sel Corcoran and Tony Ryan 37, Dianne Cannon (Federal Canberra) and Janet Delmenico 36, and Susan DeSousa (Murrumbidgee) and Marilyn Neill (Federal) 35.

On Sunday, Darren John with 76 off the stick stepped up to claim the A grade scratch winner trophy with Mick Cooper (Tocumwal) one shot back in runner-up.

The A grade nett winner was Brett Shaw with 69, with Sel Corcoran on 72 r-up.

Rick Harris with 93 off the stick claimed the B grade scratch trophy, and Marty Piggin on 99 was r-up.

Bob Makkinga with 74 was the B grade nett winner and Chick Braybon with 75 r-up.

The ladies’ scratch trophy went to Kaye Sutton who had 84 off the stick. Helen Wastle on 89 was r-up.

Marian Ayres’ 74 gave her the nett trophy with Sharon Griffin (Yowani Country Club) with 76 nett r-up.

NTP: 18th Leo McNamara.

Helen Wastle claimed the ladies’ putting trophy with 25.

Ball comp: Wayne Peasley 74, Steve McRae 75, Merv Percy 76, Phillip Griffin (Yowani Country Club) 76, Heather Daniel 76, Tony Ryan 77, Grant Wilson 77, Tony Quirk (Queanbeyan) 77, Enid Bain 79, and Linda Rendell 79.

The tournament finished on Monday with a Mixed 4BBB Stableford event.

Leo McNamara and Christine Shaw with 47 points claimed the trophy whilst Colin McNamara and Helen Wastle after a countback at 42 points were runners-up.

NTP: 18th Leo McNamara.

Ball comp: Rand Wilson and Beth White 42, Dale and Deborah Pyke 41, John and Gay Henderson 40 and Paul Pinnuck and Sue Simpson 40.

This weekend is stroke on Saturday and stableford on Sunday.


Sunday, June 4 was the Keno NSW 4BBB par event:

Men’s winners - David Legge and Scott McGillivray +8, r-up Wayne and Trent Neilson +7.

Ladies’ winners - Janie Hills and Kath Williams -4.

NTP: 5th Janie Hills; 7th Laurie Blackmore; 10th and 15th Trent Neilson.

Sunday, June 11, stroke: Winner - Scott McGillivray 94-25-69, r-up Mike Pitt 84-14-70 c/b.

Ball comp: Laurie Henery 70, Trent Neilson 70, Laurie Blackmore 72.

NTP: 5th Laurie Blackmore; 7th Laurie Henery; 13th Mike Pitt; 15th Dave Legge; 16th Trent Neilson.


Friday nine hole chook run winner: Jeff Stein 31-21-10.

Putting: Syd Goldsmith 11.

Saturday nine hole winner: Joe Nichols (32-21-11).

Putting: Mark Rooney (12). Ball comp: Jeff Stein.

Sunday 18 hole winner: Chris Kelly (89-20-69), r-up Neil Graham (94-24-70).

Putting: Neil Graham (27). Ball comp: Jeff Stein, Mark Rooney.

Stableford will be played this Sunday with a 12.30pm hit-off.

Berrigan Golf Club will also hold a mixed pairs event on Sunday, June 25 with the final round of the Club Championship to be held on Sunday, July 2.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text