Leo’s trifecta

March 17, 2017


At Wednesday’s Billabong Freight Men’s Competition, Leo McNamara with 34 stableford points took the trophy.

NTP on the 18th went to Martin Cruickshank and a ball went to Ian Armer (33).

The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA Trophy went to Alan Hand.

A handy field hit off for the Thursday afternoon nine-hole stroke competition with Bill Judd carding 26.5 net to collect the voucher.

Balls went to Geoff Boscombe (27) and John Taylor, Terry Emerson and Jon Munro all with 28.5 net.

Visitors and locals turned out for the Riverina Smiles two-person ambrose event played on Saturday.

Paul Pinnuck and Leo McNamara claimed the day with 63 net while Kelly White and Grant Shaw with 63.25 net collected the runner-up trophy.

NTP on the 13th was Sharon Pyle and on the 18th Alan Hand.

Balls went to Wayne Peasley and Rick Harris (64), Peter Orro and John Taylor (65), Joanne Dean and Tracey Jones (67) and Jon Stammers and Billy Smith (67.25).

On Sunday the Xerri Evans Accounting stroke event was played which saw Leo McNamara card 68 net to once again claim the trophy for the third time within five days.

Kim Lawlor with 73 net took the ladies trophy.

Ladies putting went to Sharon Pyle with 27 putts.

NTP on the 18th went to Bob Ross and balls went to Marty Piggin, Ian Daniel and Bob Ross each with 71 net and Sue Simpson with 74.

At the weekend stroke will be played on Saturday and stableford on Sunday.

Finley Ladies

Wednesday’s Poppies stableford event was won by Jenny McFadyen with 36 points

NTP on the 13th was Gai Henderson and ball winners were Kath Klemke 35 points, Nella McNamara and Mary Polkinghorne with 33 and Kay Sutton 31.

Finley ladies open will be held on Friday.


Leo Curtis was the winner in the nine-hole Chook Run with a score of 44-11-33 on Friday.

Runner-up was Joe Nichols with 46-12.5-33.5.

Ball winner was Val Chisholm who also won the putting with 14.

Saturday’s nine-hole winner was Maria McDonell (45-12.5-32.5) with Neil Graham (47-14-33) runner-up.

Balls went to Doug Cameron 34, Wayne Crew 34, Pam Hunt 34 and putting was won by Maria McDonell 13.

Laurie Sanders was the winner on Sunday with 43 stableford points.

Syd Goldsmith with 35 was the closest to Saunders to be named runner-up.

Ball winners were Joe Nichols and Ed Morgan both on 35.

Coming events: Sunday stroke with a 12.30pm hit off time.


On Tuesday last week the ladies had their open day playing Gentsomes stableford that saw Duncomb/Muir/Quick/McLeod the winners with 99 pts.

Runners-up were Tomkins/Ford/Reeves/Ryan who had 98 pts.

NTPs went to Kerry Conrad 2nd, Margaret Fergeus 8th and Helen Ryan 14th.

Men’s stableford was played on Wednesday that saw 96 players taking part with Ben Kerr taking out Division One with 42 pts while Colin McNamara was runner-up with 41 pts.

Division Two was won by Craig Durston with 40 pts and runner-up John Hepworth scored 38.

David Gibbs was the Division Three winner with 42 pts followed by Barry Prideaux 38.

NTPs went to Michael Keen 2nd, Jeffrey Harris 14th and Craig Durston (Pro Pin $78).

On Saturday we had 32 Ladies and 59 Men playing Par with ladies Division One going to Cheryl Hart who had 2-up followed by Denise Huy with 1-up.

Division Two was won by Gayle Blakey with 2-up and runner-up went to Ann Clement -2.

NTPs were won by Michelle Purtill 2nd and Gayle Blakey 17th.

Men’s Division One winner was Jason Buchanan (Heidelberg GC) with 1-up on countback from John Schaeche.

Bruce Enbom was the Division Two winner with 3-up with runner up going to Ronald Huy.

John Simm took out Division Three over Bryan Lloyd (Melton Valley GC) on a countback with both finishing 4-up.

NTPs went to Phillip Dungan 2nd and Brian Wilson 17th.

Sunday’s saw five ladies playing with Joy Francis taking the spoils with 31 pts.

4BBB Stableford was played by the men with Conrad/Huy the winners with 48 pts followed by Cooper/Clement with 47.

NTPs went to Keith Stacey 2nd and Stephen Conrick 18th.

More in Southern Riverina News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text